Yellow+Grey – A Gender Reveal

05_10_19

My co-worker is co-hosting a gender reveal party for her sister this weekend and it made me think back to almost 3 years ago when we started planning our gender reveal. Some people think they are dumb but I personally love getting family together so it was perfect for us! We had just sold our house, put our life in a storage facility and moved from a 4/3 house in to a 1/1 bedroom apt. The day we closed we found out we were pregnant!

So this was our carrot. We chose the color scheme of yellow and Grey with a touch of Green! I hate pink so we switched it up. I am slightly OCD and a total control freak so I organized 3 envelopes for the doctor to write down what the gender was. One for cake, one for party city and one for my scrapbook!

il_570xn-487436676_2r5b

I ordered these from WorldWideParty on Etsy

We did a Sweet and Salty food scheme. A couple of my friends & family members offered to help cook some food. I set the menu and we got to going.

enhance
Sweet Menu:

  • Mini Pineapple upside-down Cakes
  • Mini Red Velvet Cupcakes
  • Candy Apple Grapes on a stick
  • Lemon Puppy Chow – Sarah’s Secret recipe
  • Cookie Dough Dip

enhance
Salty Menu:

  • Texas Caviar – Aunt Marcy’s Recipe
  • Nana’s Crackers -Mimi’s Moms Recipe
  • Pinwheel roll ups
  • Mini quiche
  • Veggie cups
  • Deviled Eggs
  • Chips

Old Wives Tales Table!

We put what I was craving which was pickles (given) and Captain Crunch Oops All Berries in little jars and invited anyone that wanted a take home gift to take one. We set the table with blue bow ties or pink bows to pin on them to guess the gender!

The Big Reveal

Everyone on Dougie’s side of the family has always had a girl first and a boy second, literally for the last like 12 generations so we figured we would too!

We got black balloons from Party city and they put glitter in them. We popped them on three! IT’S A BOY! We were so excited.

Notice the Shock on my face!

Party Pics




Shop the Party: Invitations: World Wide Party, Cake & Cupcakes: The Cake Nerd, Decorations: Balloons-Amazon, Banners- Homemade (supplies via Hobby Lobby)

Leave a comment